Nostalgia

For something a little bit different I am going to try to list all of the books I have read over the years that were about horses or I read them because I thought they were about horses. Believe me when I say this is no easy task…but here goes:

The Black Stallion

The Young Black Stallion

The Black Stallion and Flame

Black Beauty

Misty of Chincoteague

Stormy, Misty’s Foal

A really good portion of the “Saddle Club” series*

*I used to “steal” these from my elementary school library because I didn’t want to go through the hassle of checking them out because I sometimes read up to three of these books a day during class. I returned them all, I just never checked them out. I know…nerd alert. This won’t be the last.

Many of the early “Thoroughbred” series

The Boy on a Black Horse

The Immortals Quartet*

*Nerd alert number two…also not the last. I absolutely LOVED these books. I have probably read the book Wild Magic 40 times cover to cover.

The Song of the Lioness Quartet

Justin Morgan Had a Horse

King of The Wind

The Big Book of Horses*

*and other coffee table/ encyclopedia/ reference books I considered my Bibles

The Horse Boy

Horse Heaven

The Horse Whisperer

A good number of Dick Francis books

Seabiscuit

The Man Who Listens to Horses*

*I loved this book- couldn’t put it down. I brought it to my office to read over my lunch break.

Chosen by a Horse

Chosen Forever

The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses*

*This entire book was so beautifully illustated. Here is the cover art for your enjoyment:

whew…and probably many more! But I’m impressed- that was a pretty good list if I do say so myself!

swl

Leave a Reply

