Strong Resolve

I’d like to reflect for a moment on a previous post describing my New Year’s resolutions with regards to riding. I am not  known for sticking to my resolutions which is why I am taking this moment to appreciate my progress in hopes that it will fuel my desire to continue reaching the goals I’ve put out there for myself. By the end of this month I will have officially accomplished two of my New Year’s resolutions!

I will be riding in my first schooling show at Featherbrook Farm on March 26th. I am planning on at least doing Intro C and maybe even one of the training classes. I am nervous and excited but I told myself I would ride in the next show and I am sticking to it. In a way, it will be a nice cap on the year of riding I have spent there and will help me ease into the “break” I’ll be taking from FBF while I concentrate on riding Kate for the next 5 months.

Speaking of Kate, leasing a horse was one of my New Year’s resolutions as well! Granted, I was originally planning on leasing one of the horses at FBF this year, but when Kate came along I couldn’t pass her up. We are a superb match. It goes without saying that I often feel like a Belgian trying to do dressage…so now Kate and I can actually be that together!

I am learning so much and I am so grateful for all of the wonderful teachers I have. I’m going to go ahead and give myself a pat on the back for following through on my plans and for having the courage to take a few risks and make changes in order to grow.

If you have done some growing or achieving lately too, I’d love to hear about it!

swl

Leave a Reply

