Indoor Riding

So last night I had a good lesson at little barn. But with daylight fading fast and temps dropping steadily, my 6:30pm lesson was pushed indoors. Normally I would be fine with this change of scenery because often times at little barn I have lessons in an open field and even though I know it is good for my riding development, I miss arena walls when I am in the field. The problem with little barn is that it is, well, little. Too little. My instructor and I were the only people in the arena for most of the lesson and it was still pretty cramped. The worse issue though, was the dust.

Image

“Hey, looking great up there, EquiNovice!… I think…”

Now I’m not too much of a pansy to stand a bit of dust in an indoor arena but when it gets bad enough that I feel awful for three days after a lesson, something’s gotta change.

Image

“Oh yeah…cough cough… I had a great lesson! cough”

I am struggling with the thought that I may have to tell my instructor at little barn that through the winter I will have to scale back to 2 lessons a month or if that wont work, I’ll have to stop riding there for the season. I feel bad because it isn’t her, it’s the lack of facilities. I don’t need a heated arena (but seriously they are awesome); I don’t need super fancy footing; I don’t need an extra-long, extra fancy arena with slanted kick boards and wall to wall mirrors…

But I do need to breathe.

And honestly, I don’t think that is asking too much. If I could be assured that the arena would be watered which would reduce the dust, I would stay on through the winter but at this point I think I am going to have to break the news to my instructor that I cannot ride at little barn during the winter.

Has this ever happened to you??

swl

Leave a Reply

