Blog Hop: Immediate Inspiration

VCBH

 

Most of us take lessons, whether its a couple times a week or a couple times a month. Some of us have more then one instructor. Why do you train with your trainer? If okay or possible, share a picture of your trainer riding.

I take lessons once a week from my current instructor. I found her online as I was desperately scanning this comparatively horse desolate place I moved to for my career. It had been a futile effort for many months to find what I was looking for and though I never did find what I was looking for, I certainly found exactly what I needed in this instructor. I took a chance and dropped a line. She quickly answered that she didn’t currently have any school horses available but would possibly be getting one soon. I thanked her for her kind response and promptly wrote her off- the barn was far away, what was I thinking contacting an Eventing barn anyway, done and done.

A few months later, she wrote me an email saying she had one spot for another rider and asked me if I wanted it. I nearly talked myself out of it again before ultimately telling her yes and setting up a first lesson. It has been just over 8 months now and I couldn’t be happier.

She told me recently that I was really hard to read when I first started riding there. She said she would often wonder if I had enjoyed my lesson at all- she couldn’t tell. I was coming off of a two year long hiatus from riding and was extremely frustrated with how much I felt I had lost. I was in my own head constantly. She was patient and supportive but not less demanding- which I appreciated- any less would have felt condescending and any more might have made me feel too vulnerable and in over my head. I don’t know how she managed to hit the balance spot on- especially with little to no help on my end with communication. THAT is why I train with her. Of course it helps that we share similar philosophies on how to treat and train a horse. I don’t think it can work if these fundamental ideas are too different.

I’m sure I could snatch a picture of her riding but that would be silly- I’ve never actually seen her ride, I am absolutely sure she is a masterful rider but her TEACHING skills are why I drive three hours for a 45min lesson each week. Her ability to see/feel…sense exactly what I am while she is on the ground is unparalleled. She is so young too- I don’t get how she does it- I am in awe of her ability.

I just started training with a new instructor (basically because I can’t clone my current instructor and/or force her to move to my city) and my mind is open and receptive. Time will tell whether this one make as big a mark on my education- we’ll see!

swl

 

 

Leave a comment