Friday Night Hot Date

Image

Freshly manicured arena?! Don’t mind if I do!

The Sunfish was pretty good tonight. We were all alone so I decided to have as much fun as possible. He was a little goofy and took a long time to relax, probably because he hadn’t been ridden since Monday. We cantered both directions without too much sass and did a good amount of walk-trot transitions. He is much more “looky” and hot in general than Louie is, so it is challenging in a very different way. After we had cantered both directions I wanted to work some more transitions but he assumed the lightest touch with my legs was going to be a canter cue and would shoot out into a not very pretty trot. Once I finally got us both relaxed and our transitions were better I decided to quit on that positive note. Pushing my luck a bit, I thought it would be fun to take a lap around the pasture before the sun set. He surprised me and was a total trooper with me opening the gate from his back and though he wasn’t particularly relaxed around the field I think it’s good to mix things up every once in a while. Later I let him back into the arena thinking he’d like a good roll but he just stood there and looked at me. We whipped out a little Monty Roberts and he followed me around the arena like a puppy- so sweet. All in all, it was a fabulous Friday night!

swl

Leave a Reply

