I Never Said he was a Schoolmaster

Sunny is doing better and we are starting to get into the swing of things again. I rode him this weekend and filmed my ride. I’m still trying to figure out the best place to position the camera to capture the majority of the arena and to be useful from an angle perspective.

He seems to prefer that I maintain firmer contact than I am used to. I wish he would seek the contact more but he doesn’t and I don’t know how to teach him to do that. It seems like asking him to trot on a longer rein with lighter contact makes the thoroughbred half of his brain explode and the quarter horse half go into rodeo mode. If I work to maintain contact at a slightly higher rein weight and get more handsy than I would like, he will trot-on “fairly”quietly (albeit tensely) and will even use his back for a few strides here and there. Point being: we can actually get some work done.

It feels alien to me and very “pull him into a frame” style riding but I’m out of ideas and ill-equipped to retrain this horse from what he is used to.

I think I’ll have to work backwards, ease him into longer and lower millimeter by millimeter so he doesn’t get so anxious. Things are better than they were but still not 100%.

Here we are trotting around.

Here we are trotting around.

 

 

...and here he is "saving" us from the evil hoof print in the arena sand.

…and here he is “saving” us from the evil hoof print in the arena sand.

swl

 

Leave a Reply

