NTTS Blog Hop: What do you do outside of horses?

I am new to Now, that’s The Spot!‘s blog but once I saw this blog hop topic, I couldn’t resist jumping in!

 

So when I’m not doing this:

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 3.18.50 PM

 

I volunteer a good amount for a therapeutic horseback riding organization.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 12.27.33 PM

The baby lamb is also a barn resident, though no longer a baby anymore.

 

Now that I’m a grown-up, I’ve found I am fairly lazy when it comes to fitness. So that unfortunate fact, combined with partial end stage osteoarthritis and three previous surgeries on one of my knees, means that the only decent workout I can do anymore involves sitting down and moving backwards.

 

Obviously the competition photos are from college. But the rowing machine is stabled in my apartment and belongs to me.

Obviously the competition photos are from college. But the rowing machine is stabled in my apartment and provides me hours of enjoyment where I can ponder my glory days.

 

Now I know this wasn’t a “What do you do for a living?” blog hop but my job just happens to rock so hard I routinely count it on my list of hobbies. I love what I do and I love my coworkers. I work exclusively with Latin America so work often takes me to some really fabulous places.

 

WORK HARD:

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 12.58.54 PM

 

PLAY HARD:

 

PERU

PERU

 

COLOMBIA

COLOMBIA 

 

MEXICO

      MEXICO

 

BRAZIL

BRAZIL 

 

COSTA RICA

COSTA RICA    

 

As payment for all of this awesomeness, I have to live in this dinky little town where there are no horses to lease, no men to date, and a three hour drive to take a riding lesson. But, all things considered, it isn’t half bad for an EquiNovice.

swl

5 thoughts on “NTTS Blog Hop: What do you do outside of horses?

  1. so jealous of all your traveling adventures!! sounds like you have that whole ‘work-life balance’ thing figured out 🙂 the therapeutic riding volunteer stuff sounds fun too

    • It’s funny though because if you ask my friends back home they’ll say that all I do is work. It’s true. Sometimes my job is so great that it may be preventing me from living in some ways. It often feels like an extended “study abroad”-an amazing experience, but different from your everyday life. (I know… #firstworldproblems) I am content for the moment but now and then it feels like I am in a “holding pattern” and I have to ask myself if I am working so that I can really LIVE or if I am just stuck at working. And, is that so bad if you truly love your work?

      hehe maybe I’m the one that really needs the therapy 😉

Leave a Reply

