All Dressed Up

Sunny is lame…again, so, since my horse doctoring knowledge is slim to none I did what any good lessee should do: I informed the owner and sought an opinion on immediate care from the barn manager. Nobody seemed concerned except me so I guess I’ll just keep an eye on him and at least make sure the little cuts on his heel and coronet band heal up well.

In honor of Laundry Day at the EquiNovice homestead, I bring you this extremely delayed riff on a couple of previous blog hops from Viva Carlos and Equestrian at Hart. I had to go dig to remember who originally posed these hop questions so that’s gotta be worth something, eh? These blog hops gave fellow riders the chance to show their equestrian fashion in two ways: clothes they like to ride in and horse related clothing that puts the quotation marks on “fashion”.

I will wear jeans and t-shirts to ride if I am volunteering before riding and I have worn some makeshift gear to riding lessons, especially in my earlier days. But to my lessons nowadays I like to wear polos, schooling tights, and my Mountain Horse Richmonds (which are the only non-custom boots I can find that will fit my giant calves…too bad they’re like 2in too short because apparently if you have wide calves, you cannot also be tall.) I wear either Noble Outfitter or a well-loved pair of SSG Work ‘n Horse gloves and to top it off I wear a super uncool/unpopular brand of helmet that I happen to like very much because it fits me as if it were made for me. I have a hard time shelling out a lot of money for a helmet because occasionally I feel like helmet companies take advantage of the fact that “it’s your brain! why wouldn’t you spend $500?!?!” but I am not so sure one is more protective than the other. I think a good fit is the most important thing.

 

I like to wear golf polos and those suckers can be pricey so I collect them slowly and patiently stalk clearance sections until I get what I want. I am picky on fabric and cut because the last thing I want to be worrying about while I am riding is a shirt that is too tight, or too short for my longish torso. Taking this picture also made me realize that I DO NOT need anymore schooling tights. DO NOT NEED. I seem to always want more. Every time I see my size on sale, I compulsively put them in my online cart. I don’t always buy them, but clearly, I am set in the riding pants department.

 

Now to some fun(ny) stuff. I am no stranger to the collecting of horse related clothing items. I am awkwardly attracted to all things horse. If I am in a library or bookstore I will pick up a book purely because the cover art includes a horse. It may not be about horses at all but I am compelled. Perhaps more school text books should take advantage of this.

IMG_3379

WEG 2010…can’t let it go. This isn’t even all of the branded apparel I own from this event. I volunteered there and it was a wondrous fairytale experience but it would be great to keep in mind that all of these items have dates on them…and therefore socially accepted “expiration” dates as well.

 

IMG_3380

This pair is kind of hilarious because although I am a Spanish Horse enthusiast, I have only ever ridden one once. I thought I was so cool when I bought the green sweatshirt. ANCCE does not offer any apparel and this is the only time they partnered with a local designer/store in Seville, Spain (El Caballo) to offer branded apparel. I remember the first and only compliment I received wearing this sweatshirt was from a Caribou Coffee barista who told me she loved my sweater and asked where I got it and what ANCCE meant. After casually declaring “I bought it in Spain and ANCCE is the Asociacion Nacional de Criadores de Caballos de Pura Raza Española,” I promptly felt like a total ass for multiple reasons. The maroon polo I bought at WEG 2010 after stopping by the Foundation for the Pure Spanish Horse booth to chat up the nice volunteers. The logo on that shirt represents the Royal Stables of Cordoba but more often than not, people assume it is a Crown Royal shirt. Sigh…I love whiskey, but not enough to wear a shirt.

 

IMG_3385

Here is the rest of the collection. Not too terrible since these are all shirts I wear mostly to the barn among people who understand. haha

Draft horse shirt shout out to the best Belgian in the business!!!

 

swl

4 thoughts on “All Dressed Up

  1. very nice 🙂 i have the opposite problem with riding tights – i can never can pull the trigger to buy more ‘bc i already have a good pair or two’ – but then i miss laundry day and the pants are getting all kinds of sketchy, and i’m thinking ‘ughhhh why don’t i have more riding pants???’ lol #firstworldproblems

Leave a Reply

