October Ten

My lesson this week got rescheduled for tonight so in the meantime, I figured it would be fun to take a stab at October’s 10 Questions!

1. How many pairs of breeches/jods do you own?

I don’t own any “show appropriate” breeches but I have about 15 pairs of schooling tights which I suppose is on the…upper end when you consider that I do not own my own horse and, all things considered, I average only two rides per week. I also just recently purchased my very first pair of full-seat tights; an experiment I was very eager to run.

2. How many horses have you ridden?

I haven’t really been riding for very long so this one was probably easier for me than for most of you guys. Making my list was kind of fun trying to remember all the names and I got a kick out of realizing how many different breeds of horses I have ridden over the years! Added to the list below are a handful of trail horses making my total just around 50.

Quarter Horse: Novet, Raspberry, Walter, Scout, Fred, Diablo, Sunny, Sassy, Clever, Dawn, Titus, Rudy, Tia, Splash

Paint: Shadow, Sonny, Spirit, Czar, Cruiser

Draft Cross: Louie, Belle, Gammon, Bellatrix

TB: Sprat, Argyle, Luke

Appendix: Cowboy, Sunny

Arabian: Tezra, Comet

Haflinger: Duke, Lola

Appy: Buddy

Fjord: Oz

Welsh Cob X: Regalia

Morgan: Misko

Gypsy Vanner: Monarch

Akhal Teke: Ram

Rocky Mountain Horse: Zella

Lusitano: Tesouro

Andalusian: Gitano

Trakehner: Cassie

Georgian Grande: Brego

Belgian: Kate

3. How many trainers have you had?

Seven, but I have lessoned with five of them for a greater amount of time.

4. How many barns have you ridden at?

Five. Three up in the northland, two down south here

5. What is the name of the horse you consider yourself to have the greatest bond with?

Kate the Belgian was pretty special to me.

6. What is your favorite show name you’ve ever encountered?

I can’t think of one but I tend to like show names that are clever or punny.

…on a slightly related note, at the therapy barn where I volunteer, we just had to rename a new horse because her name (Nibbles at my Heart, barn name “Nibbles”) was potentially going to be tough for kids to say correctly since b’s can sound a lot like p’s and thus potentially tough for instructors and volunteers to keep a straight face…

7. What do you consider your greatest weakness or flaw in riding?

Hesitation. I don’t think I am decisive enough when I am dealing with horses in general. Even if not 100% of the decisions you make or actions you take are “correct” I still think most horses are happier in this type of environment- with a decisive leader. I don’t exactly know when I became such a pansy considering this used to be one of my greatest strengths in other sports, but I do think time and experience will improve this.

8. What do you consider to be your greatest strength?

Coachability. This is a lovely strength to have at any skill level but paramount when you are a novice.

9. Have you ever leased a horse?

My only official lease was Kate.

10. What is the name of the first horse you rode?

Novet, my aunt and uncle’s horse. When I got a little older, my cousin and I would ride double on Novet out to see the cows.

Photo 70

swl

2 thoughts on “October Ten

Leave a Reply

