Because We Broke 30 Degrees!

Yesterday I was finally able to get in a ride on Sunny since the temps have been atrocious for the past week. My lesson last Wednesday was cancelled and I have been mostly hibernating.

I think yesterday may have been the first day in a while that the horses were actually turned out. I came over my work lunch hour(s) last week to help muck stalls since everyone was stuck inside with the miserable weather. I commented to another volunteer “see that gelding with the blue blanket annoying everyone and making everyone run around the arena? Yeah, that’s Sunny.”

When I came out to ride yesterday I wasn’t taking any chances so when I brought him in from the field I turned him straight out in the arena and free lunged him until he looked like he had more or less located his brain.

Look what my loving mother who ordinarily does NOT prefer to buy me equestrian gifts bestowed upon me for Christmas!!!

Who you calling chubby?!

Who you calling chubby?!

Unfazed by how spiffy he looks in my new saddle pad, Sunny was mostly ahem… cloudy, for the entirety of our ride.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 7.36.11 PM

We had some nice moments of walk, trot, and canter.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 8.16.01 PM

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 8.49.03 PM

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 8.13.41 PM

This was how we felt about walk-trot transitions.

All about that bass.

All about that bass.

This was our general opinion of cantering.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 8.05.53 PM

Mostly we just did rapid hip twists and violent leg stretches, which I guess COULD be considered exercise.

If one or more of your legs is here, then you are not helping...

If one, or more, of your legs is here, then you are not helping…

I tried out some two-point, which Sunny seemed to actually like quite a bit. (Subtext: EquiNovice please get your potato sack butt OFF of my back! Love, Sunny) But, my god! was that freaking hard! Good thing I didn’t actually participate in 2-pointober because I think I managed 3 laps and had to call it a day because my left ankle was starting to give away all of it’s personal belongings and threatening to jump ship.

Is this two-point? EquiNovice doesn't even really know.

Is this two-point? EquiNovice doesn’t even really know.

Then we did this:

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 7.44.32 PM

And then we did this:

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 7.49.44 PM

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 7.54.05 PM

Which culminated into this:

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 7.52.16 PM

Then I put him back out to annoy his buddies.

Hopefully I can get a lesson in this week and maybe a make-up lesson next Saturday too!

swl

5 thoughts on “Because We Broke 30 Degrees!

Leave a Reply

