Opportunity, Insecurity, and Honesty

If you stuck it out until the end of my longish lesson recap last week, you may have seen where I mentioned a possible new lease opportunity. A friend wrote me to tell me that she had heard that the owner of another gelding at the same barn Sunny lives was interested in leasing out her horse. I don’t know much about her horse other than he and Sunny often play together, he is very tall, and very friendly. I told my friend to pass along my email and say I’d be interested in chatting with the owner to find out more. The owner wrote to me a few days later and gave a little more detail about her horse: he was trained in dressage for a few years, and she has competed with him in hunters, equitation, and jumpers- so a pretty good all-around horse. She said she was looking for either a 6-month lease or even up to when she finishes school next summer. She said she hadn’t really thought about a price yet, wanted to know my thoughts, and offered to answer any questions.

The guy in question

     The guy in question, Charlie

Like when you are dating, I waited until that night to compose my response even though I was so excited I wanted to write back the second I finished reading the email. I wrote a novel of a response since I did have a few questions and she didn’t give me a lot to go on in her first email.

My email with commentary if you are interested.

My email with commentary if you are interested.

Thank goodness I never get my hopes up (yes I do, I just don’t like to verbalize it) as a general rule since about 3 days after sending my email she wrote back thanking me for my thorough email but that she was looking for a full-lease situation.

jaw-drop

Dang. The thought had entered my mind that she may be looking for that but I hadn’t entertained the idea as a possibility for me. She was very nice and said that if I would be interested in full-leasing to let her know. So of course I started to think about every possible way I could make that work financially and otherwise.

I have never full-leased before and when faced with the opportunity I realized I was more apprehensive than I thought I would be about it. I’d love to hear from any of you who lease currently or have done a full lease in the past. I know arrangements/contracts can be made in all sorts of ways but I am curious about the financial responsibilities you guys handle while full-leasing? What’s common? All boarding expenses, farrier, and vet during the lease? What about a lease fee on top of all of the traditional costs? You don’t have to give me exact figures but I’d love to know the kind of lease agreements that are out there. How often do you talk to the owner? What happens if the horse gets hurt? I read online that you should have a horse you are going to lease vetted, just like buying. These are all things that are pretty intimidating to a newbie, and stuff I haven’t had to consider in as great a detail in my partial leases in the past.

He seems like a really solid horse- less opinionated than Sunny; a pretty healthy guy- haven’t seen him injured very often; very social (he often comes over to check me out while Sunny is busy ignoring my calls) I would obviously want to watch his owner ride him and ride him myself before making any decisions. But sadly, if I am honest with myself, I don’t think I could manage a full lease at the moment. My career is a little too demanding travel-wise. She wants to lease him out because she feels bad that he is not getting ridden enough with her busy class schedule- well I certainly don’t want to re-create the same scenario. I’m pretty sad admitting this to myself because lease opportunities just DO NOT happen around my area and when I am done riding Sunny I’ll be back to just my one lesson per week.

I want to write her back and tell her that I cannot do a full-lease but if she can’t find someone and decides to at least half-lease him, then she could always drop a line. I am dragging my feet because I just really wanted it to work out and I’m sure she’ll find someone and the chance will be gone. Also, half of me is still desperately trying to figure out a way.

Sigh….. this first world problem is giving me a sad.

i-haz-a-sad

swl

10 thoughts on “Opportunity, Insecurity, and Honesty

  1. definitely a lot to think about! i can’t offer much in terms of budgetary advice since i have a partial lease (with very favorable terms) on paper that is essentially a full lease in reality…

    but if you’re honest-to-goodness really considering it, ask for a trial ride (or trial period) to make sure you actually like the horse. and maybe ask her to be more explicit on the terms re: farrier, vet, etc…. that way you have two clear outs: either you don’t like the horse, or her terms simply do not work for you.

    if everything still feels compelling tho, maybe try pushing for the partial again? idk… good luck in any case!

  2. I’ve both leased someone else’s horse and leased out my horse. Finding a good person to lease is not always easy. Don’t get sucked into doing a full lease if your time and budget don’t allow. I like your letter and it’s very respectful and friendly. I agree about asking to try him. If she sees you on him, like you and you’re the only prospect,

    • I really appreciate the advice!! I do think the best plan is just to tell her I could only do a half lease and to keep me in mind if she isn’t able to find someone. I would have the budget but not the time…and there isn’t much I can do to get more of that! 😉

  3. Ugh, I can totally relate to how stressful these situations are. I remember waiting to hear back from the owners of both horses I have leased so far and being on pins and needles waiting to find out if I had been “approved”. 😉

    That’s too bad she is looking for a full lease. She may very well find it a challenge to find someone and in that case, perhaps she would entertain the idea of a two or three day lease.

    I personally cannot imagine a full lease while I am working full time. I know lots of people do it, but my rides after work during the week are always rushed and stressful. I find two days a week to be absolutely perfect. Hopefully one day it will be more.

    • A 2 day or even 3 day a week lease is soooo perfect for me too, I thought sure that was what she was thinking! I just got back from a week-long work meeting where I was reminded just how often I will be out of the country this year- it would be a bad idea to try to make it work. I really really appreciate you guys commenting! This whole thing was really bumming me out.

  4. I’m sorry to hear that fell through. My friend Mary, who sells CWD saddles and travels constantly, is in the same boat. It’s a tough place to be in. I’d let you half lease Connor any time if you weren’t so far away! I can only make it up there a few times a week, if the right half-leaser came along, I would do it.

  5. Definitely go with your gut and what makes you comfortable but I think letting her know that if she can’t find a full lease situation that you are still a viable option. Things fall through for all sorts of people and you never know!

  6. Don’t force it! If you’re comfortable with a half-lease, do that. And I agree with L — let everyone know you’re still interested because you never know what might happen!

Leave a Reply

