Communicating with English Professors

Slightly impatient at the stagnation of my lease progress, I have resorted to new methods of imploring my English Lit professor of a lessor to stop pulling a Thoreau and get at me!!! Nothing says “lease me your horse already!” quite like trochaic tetrameter…

A “slight” nod to Blake’s, “The Tyger”, with many liberties taken and poetic license sorely abused, I present to you:

Tyco, Where is your Owner?!

*

Tyco Tyco, mighty steed,

Getting fat on lots of feed;

What snow or storm or facebook drought

Explains your owner’s whereabouts?

*

Does she think that I can wait?

Ignoring, as my hopes deflate.

Will I see her by month’s end,

Lease agreement finally penned?

*

Winter blows, I do agree,

Still! Why won’t she contact me?

Do I write her? Ease my mind?

Or leave the terms so undefined?

*

What the drifts? What the streets?

Her driveway one complete ice sheet?

Wishing better weather here

Me, and most the blogosphere…

*

I hope she does not think me vain,

Impatient to ride you again

A week, it doesn’t seem like much

But, please! Tell her to get in touch.

*

Tyco Tyco , handsome lad,

You’ll still look great in my plaid pad,

Does winter’s grip, beyond a doubt

Explain your owner’s whereabouts?

William_Blake_-_The_Horse_-_Google_Art_Project

swl

6 thoughts on “Communicating with English Professors

Leave a Reply

