All the Pretty Horses

I have been riding lately although now that I know there isn’t really a lease on the table anymore, they feel more like pick-up rides. But that’s not so bad. I still enjoy being at the barn and taking care of the horses so much that I’d rather it be this way than no riding at all.

space

After receiving another cryptic message from Tyco’s owner ultimately resulting in her saying she would be gone the next 10 days and I should ride whenever I wanted, I got on the books for a short lesson last Saturday. The mud was knee deep and unfortunately the indoor was also under some water covering almost half of it.

spaceFullSizeRender-12space

We made due though, and trotted some ground poles and worked some in the canter. He was pretty zoomy and a little unbalanced, especially to the right, so it gave me the sensation that if he took a wrong step he might trip, but it didn’t happen. He’s been out of good work for a while so he was out of shape and a bit spooky, even in the indoor. He tries so hard though, very willing. The dressage trainer and I talked biomechanics and I shared some of the things I learned from the clinic. I told her the most important things I took from it so she incorporated them into the lesson, which was nice.

spaceIMG_4449space

I couldn’t help myself and I took an extra long time grooming him afterwards. It can be so therapeutic. I loosened all the tangles from his long mane, removed every speck of mud (even though I was going to just turn him back out in the pit), and worked hard to transfer handfuls of white hair from his back to my clothing. I’ll probably go see him tonight, it may be our first “solo” ride, though we wont be alone, my friend will be out riding her horses too.

space

Tyco makes it snow in dis club. #haybelly #longhairdontcare

                          Tyco makes it snow in dis club. #haybelly #longhairdontcare

space

Last night the weather was gorgeous and since I didn’t exactly feel like wading through the mud, I stopped by to see my old pal, Sunny. The barn was empty, not a soul in sight. I said a longing, remorseful hello to Charlie.

spaceIMG_4475space

Sunny was his usual goofy self only quieter. He stood patiently while I groomed and verbally praised his attention to detail while gently pulling mud from his eyelashes. He must have played hard in turnout yesterday because he seemed a little tired and was already a little sweaty when I got there.

space

derp horse is skeptical

                                                                derp horse is skeptical

space

I took a short ride in the arena, his feet are getting long and he is already a bit klutzy so I didn’t push my luck. Plus, I wasn’t looking for a fight so we just walked and trotted. We did some figure 8s at the walk and worked on straightness and smooth changes of bend. We did some walk trot transitions that turned out pretty well. Each time I felt like he was on the edge of acting up I just quietly changed the exercise and did something different. It worked for us last night, no bucking, no ear-pinning. I did get a few “Sunny stomps” but all-in-all, a good evening ride.

space

The Sunny Stomp

                  The Sunny Stomp  

space

space

FullSizeRender-14

space

space

swl

5 thoughts on “All the Pretty Horses

  1. I always think grooming is therapeutic too! I actually have a riding student who is autistic and he will groom for about 20 to 30 minutes to get calm enough to ride. it’s amazing to see him come from school full of anxiety and stress and then to watch him just totally calm down in the grooming time! Enjoy your riding 🙂

Leave a Reply

