Sunset Ride

Look away!!!! **warning** the following images may be quite graphic for those of you with…oh how did the 900 facebook pony put it? Issues. You know, those of you who always take especially great care to ensure your horse is extra tidy every single time you ride.

space

C34__04564_zoom

space

As a horseborrower, I’ve had to let some of that go. Not that I can’t spend hours grooming sometimes or not that I don’t appreciate when the horse I am riding looks especially sleek, it’s just that I don’t ever get to make decisions about things like mane length, clipping, diet, living conditions etc. I also am really 50/50 about it- I love to brush a horse until he gleams but I also don’t mind so much letting a horse be a horse. I have never shown a horse so maybe that has a lot to do with it. I also got used to ugly duckling status- when you ride a Belgian draft horse at small private dressage horse breeding and training barn, you kinda just have to learn to own it!

space

I am riding an overweight, yellow, gray horse with an unruly mane, and a coating of mud for “boots”. We had plans for the year, okay?! It wasn’t always going to be this rough.

space

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 9.25.03 AM

space

That said, I am sooooo proud of that yellow lump for totally KILLING IT our first time flying solo AND in the outdoor arena!! I have ridden Tyco only twice previously and both were lessons in the indoor. There were decent enough reasons, but he was rather spooky both times. Last night there were two other riders about to ride in the indoor when I finally had him at least cleanER than when I arrived. I knew that there was still some standing water preventing full use of the already small arena, so I opted to at least check out the outdoor footing.

space

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 10.21.48 AM

space

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 9.29.56 AM

space

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 9.47.25 AM

space

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 11.26.56 AM

space

It was a little crunchy, but not bad so I decided we would take a spin. He was so good and only spooked once when the whole herd in the adjacent pasture (it shares a fence with this outdoor) decided to kick up their heels and go for a run after all coming over to inspect the action in the arena. But it wasn’t even a crazy spook- he just mini-bolted into a canter I didn’t ask for and tossed his head a couple times. Super tame. He came right back to me and did not lose his mind after that. Good boy!

space

Here he is “sorta spooking”. Note: all the horizontal shadows are horses going bananas in the field.

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 9.42.43 AM

space

I forgive his prehistoric appearance because of this face ❤

space

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 11.40.09 AM

space

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 11.39.20 AM

space

Happy Wednesday Lesson Day to me!! Did you get a good ride in today?

swl

6 thoughts on “Sunset Ride

Leave a Reply

