Enjoying to the Max

FullSizeRender-21

space

Tyco’s owner was busy working all weekend so she gave me the go ahead to ride all I wanted. It was a gorgeous weekend weather-wise so I took full advantage and spent many many hours at the barn. Nirvana.

space

SFTS Blog Hop

space

Tyco is a mud lover and comes in from the field coated head-to-toe but luckily he loves the attention and stands so patiently in cross-ties to be groomed. I get in the zone currying, brushing, and pulling white winter coat off in sheets. So there ya go, Jenn, I think that’s my happy place: de-shedding a horse. I really enjoy all barn chores, mostly because I don’t have to do them every single day so they haven’t lost their luster. But the whole wooly yeti to sleek adonis thing is gratifying for me.

space

I took video of my ride on Saturday. I like how all of these video stills make me look like I am in the witness protection program.

space

Screen Shot 2015-04-06 at 8.46.05 AM

space

Screen Shot 2015-04-04 at 7.36.12 PM

space

I rode with my iPod for the first time ever. I was listening to Asgeir during this whole ride and it was magical. I only used one earbud for safety, but listening to music relaxed me so much and I know it transferred to Tyco because he could not have cared less about the hoard of screeching children doing an easter egg hunt at the fire station next door. I rode for a little over an hour and did some trot sets to the music since I know how long the songs are. It was brilliant and I’m sad I waited so long to try this.

space

Mutual concentration required to switch bend.

Mutual concentration required to switch bend.

space

He was a little hitchy in the trot, but, with the owner’s blessing to continue light work, we still got a good workout in. I am working on me a lot more than I am working on him and he is so forgiving about it.

space

double ear concentration required for attempting half pass

double ear concentration required for attempting half pass

space

Screen Shot 2015-04-04 at 9.16.52 PM

space

Screen Shot 2015-04-04 at 9.27.12 PM

space

Sunday I spent another hour grooming. We had a really nice ride and I got a mini case of the yolos and took his saddle off and rode him bareback in the arena for a short time. He was interesting to ride bareback- not nearly as comfy as Sunny to sit on. It surprised me considering he looks like a walking Barcalounger. His withers are more pronounced than Sunny’s and I could feel his muscles moving more- of course that may just be because his muscles were actually moving more… I didn’t really trust Sir Bucksalot with much more than a walk whereas I even cantered a little on Tyco. He was a trooper, and I didn’t over-do it. Much fun! Easter treats all around!

space

Nom!

                                                                              Nom!

space

space

I spent around 3 hours grooming this horse this weekend and this is what he had to say about that:

space

space

space

space

Little shit.

space

space

swl

9 thoughts on “Enjoying to the Max

Leave a Reply

