Love that Spanish Blood

Last week took me to Colombia again for work. Many emoticon hearts for how much I love my job <3. But the traveling does make it tough to keep up with blogland. Refreshing Feedly (yes, I have now arrived as I am no longer using Emma’s blog list as my personal RSS feed) is like cracking open a newspaper in the morning and with the demands of work (le sigh) it was impossible not to fall behind. It sometimes seems like a full-time job reading everyone’s blog, but they are really like the best novel, reference book, and life manual all rolled into one. Never go away, k?

space

Screen Shot 2015-04-15 at 10.16.11 AM

space

I did some fun things while in Bogota: I ate too much great food; drank the local fire water; miserably failed to dance even a passable cumbia; spoke plenty of spanish; smuggled in a wedding dress from the states for my Costa Rican coworker; watched doctors throw money around like Pablo Escobar; visited a massive church built inside a salt mine; licked the wall of a salt mine (I was curious, okay…); bought a beautiful emerald ring; ate hotdogs at 4am from a street cart with a prominent Mexican vascular surgeon; danced in hell; and did a metric ton of work (incase it wasn’t clear whether this was a vacation or not).

space

repent

  repent

space

...then dance in hell.  Shoot, I definitely did this in the wrong order...

…then dance in hell.
Shoot, I definitely did that in the wrong order.

space

wall licking

      wall licking, mmmm salty!

spacespace

space

Oh yes, back to this guy!

space

IMG_4699

space

Last night I rode Tyco for the first time in a week. His owner did get out there to ride him at least once while I was gone and he got a pedicure so I had high expectations that it was going to be a good ride. He was a total rockstar. We had some stellar transitions and he felt pretty light most of the time. He is unlike any of the horses I have ever ridden in that he can get super rushy but he’s not really hot per se, so I am trying my best to figure him out. We will make a brilliant transition: prompt and light and then like 5 strides later he just starts accelerating and taking tiny sewing machine steps even though I feel like I am not asking for more speed. It could be that I am leaning and he is just more sensitive to that than the horses I am used to riding. He gets so fast I feel like I can’t even half-halt, or I do, but it comes out more like a halt-halt and he doesn’t rebalance, he stops. He is teaching me that maybe I can’t just “set it and forget it”. More half-halts are the key. Identifying that moment when he is considering rushing and half-halting and then probably doing it again a couple of strides later just for good measure. And probably adding in some lateral work since it is easy for him. I had been trying not to pull on the reins when he started to rush but we get so out of sync so fast that it was hard to use my seat to get him back once I had lost him. This part is still a work in progress, but I think we’re heading in the right direction. Do any of you have a rushy horse? What exercises have worked for you?

space

He does his own hair.

                                                                        He does his own hair.

space

And then there was this…because clean is still overrated.

space


space

Why, EquiNovice, what a lovely clean gray horse you have there!

                     Why, EquiNovice, what a lovely, clean, gray horse you have there!

space

bahahaha stoopid human...

                                        What?! You said you like tall, dark, and handsome!

space

swl

5 thoughts on “Love that Spanish Blood

  1. your work trip sounds amazing btw!! busy but wild in the best possible way. also – yea my horse can get a little hot and rushy too and i’m really trying to work more from the seat than from the hands… still just a work in progress tho, alas

    • It’s quite different for me… I’m so much more used to pleading for some energy/effort I don’t quite know what to do with myself when I get too much energy but in the wrong direction!

  2. Quick gray horses ftw! Especially once we start cantering, my girl gets very excited that we’re doing something FUN and thinks we’re done trotting and walking forever. Once we start cantering, that’s just what we’re doing forever and ever in her mind. The best way I’ve found to work with her is to distract her when I ask her to slow down- keeping a strong leg on, I ask for tight circles, shallow serpentines, big serpentines, anything to make her focus and listen to me. I also play with her mouth and constantly give and take so she doesn’t have the chance to brace on me and snowplow around. It’s definitely not perfect every time but we’re getting there! The key is to keep leg on- I used to take my leg off when she started rushing and that just unbalanced her. More Leg Less Problems. MLLP. It’s a thing now.

Leave a Reply

