Hidden Aggression

My kind, steady, dependable, sweet lesson moose is a closet Hulk.

space

wpid-2534763-2510067-hulk

space

space

There was a foal born at the barn a week ago and apparently Lou lost his marbles over it. Violently.

spacespace

Who, me?

                                                                                    Who, me?

space

I had to lead him into the barn through a different door last night to tack him up and it took a good portion of my lesson to try and smush the brain back into his noggin as it exploded out of his ears. Mom and baby were turned out in a small paddock and every time we turned the corner in the arena facing that paddock, Louie craned his neck to stare at the colt. On a plus, he was wired for sound and quite forward. My trainer joked that she wishes he walked that way all the time. It was 86 degrees and he was like a coiled spring. Aside from the occasional screaming and death glares, we did manage to put some good work in and he was pretty well-behaved under saddle, all things considered.

space

Even with the baby-killing lust, I was grateful to have been riding Lou last night. It was another one of those completely chaotic evenings at the barn: The farrier was there; lots of people hacking; ridiculously hot for early May; the group lesson after mine unloading from their trailer; a saddlebred mare going ape-shit in her paddock over who knows what- and all this in plain view of the outdoor arena. It was pandemonium and a little frustrating, if I am honest. But I still felt like I had a somewhat productive lesson, and I never felt unsafe.

space

I am not trying to make light of the situation- it can potentially be very dangerous. This hidden aggressive side caught me by surprise but after a little googling on the matter it seems it is not uncommon for geldings to attack foals. It is another reminder of how powerful natural instinct is. Take double precautions. You never really know how a particular horse is going to react to a new baby. Once the baby gets a little older the aggression usually subsides. I am kinda hoping that happens sooner rather than later.

space

cute little fella!

                                                                              cute little fella!

space

swl

5 thoughts on “Hidden Aggression

  1. Foals can do funny things to horses. I feel like there’s no in between: either they could care less or they lose their ever loving marbles.

  2. interesting!! i’ve never spent any time at a farm with new foals so never got to experience it, but definitely sounds like something to be careful about! that foal is adorable too haha

  3. Oh, I know that stallions can be very picky about which foals they accept in their presence, if not born in a herd, but I never knew it included geldings too. Good to know!

  4. Interesting — I’ve never heard of this before. But then again, I don’t think I’ve ever been around foals very much (except for one class I took in college)

Leave a Reply

