Horsey Happenings

Despite not having had a lesson since May 20th, here are a few horsey things going on in my world. Also, barring any shoe throwing, today is lesson day!!!

space

who.throws.a.shoe_

space

space

I have a super awesome friend who graciously offers pony time and always seems to know exactly when I need it. Last week after lesson day was a bust, she called and invited me out to ride her horse Cruiser.

He is a very interesting creature but she has put a lot of work into him and I could tell a HUGE difference since riding him shortly after he arrived in her care. He is well broke and not a dangerous ride by any means but he has a very quirky personality and has an endless arsenal of creative evasions. It took me the better part of an hour that night before he finally relented and started pushing into the contact, bending through his body, and using his back a little more correctly. It was an awkward llama dance before that. Once the trot was a little nicer, I tried a canter. Cruiser bucked hard but since it was the first time in a while with a new rider, and canter is not exactly my strong suit, I didn’t hold it against him. Having successfully remained between the horse and the ground though, I did ask for a few more canters before calling it a day. He still needs to build some better muscle after being a pasture ornament for his previous “job” so he still does some odd things like swapping leads in the back or forgetting where his feet are, but he’s come a long way. I was just delighted to be riding!

space

Awkward Paint horses take awkward photos…

space

IMG_4946

space

space

Over the weekend I received a text from a friend of mine who drives carriages part-time in one of the little towns not far from where I live. She knew it was a long shot but thought I might like decide for myself. The owner of the carriage company bought a young Percheron gelding and put him in training but has ultimately decided to sell him. My friend knows I have a soft spot for the big guys and a local dressage trainer has watched him work and thought he might turn out quite nice as a lower level dressage horse. She wants $2500 for him and even though I will fully admit to doing some preliminary math in my head (it was like an involuntary reflex, I swear), I obviously am not going to buy a 5 year old, green, draft horse. I am ill-equipped for that scenario in many many ways. But a fun horsey daydream nonetheless!

space

FullSizeRender-31

                                  I am cute…resistance is futile.

space

IMG_4971

space

When I have lots of horse activity going on, I don’t resort to looking at horses for sale but desperate times… so as I was perusing the more local offerings, I came upon this pretty thoroughbred mare for sale in Versailles, Kentucky. She needs more miles too, but since they are asking $2500 for her, the ad caught my eye. I could have this much more “made” creature for the same price as the draft horse. I’m no conformation expert, and tend to “like what I like” whether it serves my chosen sport or not, but I really just liked the look of her. Window shopping is soothing.

space

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 5.05.02 PM

space

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 5.49.21 PM

space

space

On a less fantastical note, another friend has offered to let me try her gelding for a possible lease! It would be a good situation- mutually beneficial. She would even consider moving him down to the barn in town where our other friend keeps her horses. She owns two horses and has been struggling with back problems lately. I know she would never sell this guy since he is part of her family, but she also feels bad that he is just sitting around. Once she heals, I don’t think she’d show him anyway, she’d show her mare instead. So this handsome fellow needs a job! Very preliminary discussions, and I’ve not met or ridden him yet, but I am cautiously optimistic.

 

space

Alllllllllll the good-looking!

space

268942_1805659913346_1134283_n

space

space

I’ll keep you updated on the potential lease.

space

swl

9 thoughts on “Horsey Happenings

  1. so much fun eye candy! good luck with the lease (i am having all the fun in the world w my leased arab lol) – and enjoy your next lesson!!!

Leave a Reply

