Work Hard Play Hard

A couple weeks ago I was in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil hosting a physician training course. It was one of the better work trips I have had. The course went off without a hitch and I got to do some really rad extracurriculars. Some even involving horses!!!

space

IMG_5571

space

This place is so enchanting. I would totally take it for granted if I lived there, but visiting places like this is always an unforgettable experience.

space

FullSizeRender-53

                                                                       Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

space

After we finished our day at the hospital, my coworker and I took all of the visiting doctors up the Corcovado mountain to see the Cristo Redentor statue that watches over Rio. The sunset was gorgeous and the view of the city can’t be beat.

space

FullSizeRender-52

space

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 11.41.35 AM

space

I got a bird’s-eye preview of the equestrian club I would later get to see up close and personal. Right by the lake and nestled under the mountains?! Yep, definitely dreaming…

spacespace

We spent two days in two different hospitals observing cases. Here I am getting some serious side-eye for being a paparazzi during the course.

space

IMG_5574

space

space

I chatted up one of our hosting physicians during a break since I know he owns a few horses and rides. I mentioned that I had read that the Rio Equestrian Festival was taking place this weekend. Little did I know, It was being hosted at his home riding club, his son was competing in the young rider category, and he and his family were going to watch on Saturday. Once he found out that my flight home on Saturday wasn’t until 10pm, he invited me to come watch the competition with him and his family!

space

space

FullSizeRender-54

space

The SHB is the oldest riding club in Rio de Janeiro and one of the largest with over 350 stalls. It is a beautiful facility and immaculately kept.

space

I took a taxi there and met up with my surgeon friend who showed me to the club seats where his family had a spot waiting for me. I arrived just in time to watch the 1.30m Amateur, Top Young Rider, Pre-Junior, and Top Masters compete.

space

space

Happy selfie at the club

                                                                            Happy selfie at the club

space

FullSizeRender-55

space

His son took second on the day after pulling one rail in the jump off. He went on to win his division on Sunday on his lovely Belgian Warmblood mare.

space

Rodrigo takes a victory lap

                                                                Rodrigo takes a victory lap

space

Be in the winner's circle photos?! Oh, if you insist...

                                      Be in the winner’s circle photos?! Oh, if you insist…

space

space

No, really though, is this real life?

space

space

After all of that excitement the big show started and I was fortunate enough to watch 62 year old ex-olympic medalist and local equestrian icon, Luiz Felipe de Azevedo, try to beat his personal jumping record of 2.32m and even try for the world record currently at 2.40mspace

such a showman, he sang and joked with a very warm home crowd

                            such a showman, he sang and joked with a very warm home crowd

space

he made 2.10m look easy

                                                      he jumped 2.10m…. so just over 6′ 10”   um wut!?!? 

space

no-touchie on 2.20m

                           no-touchie on 2.15m… just over 7′

space

He didn’t beat his record but holy cow was it fun to watch him try. 62 years old and jumping a 7 foot wall… no big deal. Incredible.

space

space

We capped off the day with my wonderful host taking me to the stables to meet his five gorgeous imports, the friendliest of which, was his Oldenburg stallion Robert. It’s the mares in his herd who can really jump though!

space

What a trip, and I can’t think of a better way to get my horse fix while on the road!

space

swl

6 thoughts on “Work Hard Play Hard

Leave a Reply

