Appreciation

I do an okay job of appreciating what I have, but sometimes I get a little anxious about not being able to ride more often. It makes me not want to blog much- I mean who wants to hear a lesson recap once a month?! crickets? yep, that’s what I thought…

Instead, in honor of November, I am going to list some of the things that help bring out that warm glow of gratitude!

  1. I have an amazing riding instructor. Not everyone gets to say this. They are hard to find and I am even luckier that such a wonderful trainer is somehow still willing to teach someone who doesn’t have their own horse, travels incessantly with work and has to cancel lessons occasionally, only rides 4 times per month TOPS, and who doesn’t even ride their preferred discipline. Crap. I hope she never reads this, decides I’m right, and dumps me as a client…. I still marvel after every great lesson how crazy it is that I managed to gain access to her. I’m lucky. And I am so grateful.

space

space

she never says this, despite it always being true...

she never says this, but probably continues to hope…

space

space

2. I get to take lessons on a horse I don’t own. I don’t know what type of agreement between the owner and my trainer makes this possible, but believe me, it is NOT lost on me that I wouldn’t be riding at all without it. Thank you, Louie’s mom, for sharing him.

spacespacespacespaceHorse friends. You don’t even have to have a horse to have these!! And mine are amazing. They are the people that make living in this state even remotely tolerable. I met them volunteering for a therapeutic horseback riding organization and I couldn’t ask for a better crew. Side bar: Do you guys have friends that are more than 30 years older than you? I never did, my friends were from sports or college and all generally around my age until I moved away from home. It’s the greatest thing I’ve done since moving here (other than managing to find a completely bad ass riding instructor). Anyway, I sometimes think about how amazing it is that I get to be a part of this group of wonderful women. They generously share their horses with me, they ride with me, they are always willing to talk horses with me, and I never have to worry about auditing a clinic, attending a horse show, going to a fair, or expo alone. Love them.

space

space

#squadgoals

                                                                               #squad

space

space

you mean your cookout bonfires don't look like this?

                                     you mean your cookouts don’t look like this? maybe they should.

space

space

retired therapy horses are the best!

                                                       retired therapy horses are the best!

space

space

Patti likes apple crisp too!

                                                       Patti likes apple crisp too!

space

space

4. Horse smell in fall. Fall is my favorite season for many reasons but one of those reasons is that horses smell fan-freaking-tastic in the fall. The slightly cool weather changes the scent of the barn in a gorgeous way. The lemony green smells of summer give way to the sugary, earthy, sun toasted smells of fallen leaves and ripening hay. After a light workout in cool weather, a horse’s skin smells so good. It’s no longer the wet funk of lathered sweat but a sweeter, lightly sour, mellow version. Horse smells are like fine wines…

space

space

FullSizeRender-58

space

space

5. Riding vicariously through all of your blogs. Cannot be understated. The next best thing to getting to do it yourself is reading about it or watching it! What a strange time we live in that I can become so interested and invested in the lives and horses of people I’ve never met. I find myself cheering for you guys and by reading your blogs I get to feel like I am kinda still “living the life” even when I don’t get to ride. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been discussing some horsey thing with my friends and started to say “that same thing happened to my friend’s horse,”… when what I really mean is that, that same thing happened to one of YOUR horses. Funny, right? God, I’m weird. I know I’m not entitled to get to call you all friends, but I do thank you very much for sharing parts of your lives even if we never get a chance to meet. Blogs like yours make this hobby/lifestyle/sport more accessible to everyone and that’s pretty cool.

space

space

see! look at how affectionate internet me is! real me strongly dislikes the fact that cultural norms in my job dictate that i must kiss random strangers...

see! look at how affectionate internet me is! real me strongly dislikes the fact that cultural norms in my job dictate that I must kiss random strangers…

spacespace

swl

5 thoughts on “Appreciation

  1. aw great post! having a trainer that you like and respect, but who also can teach to your learning style is so so so critical (esp when you have such cool horses to ride!). and nothing beats good barn buddies (in person or virtual or whatever) 🙂

  2. Wonderful post! It’s so important to focus on the good things. Having the right coach is the most important thing ever. I have wasted a lot of years with the wrong coaches, so I know what I speak 🙂

    • I hear that- it’s so easy to think you are with the right teachers but sometimes you look back and realize it wasn’t where you needed to be. Sometimes there aren’t many options…which makes it even tougher. Is something always better than nothing? Not all the time. But finding her was pure dumb luck for me, and I couldn’t be happier (okay okay, maybe only if I had my own horse to ride with her!) 😉

  3. Yay for gratitude and good attitudes. It’s refreshing. I can’t say I have all of those things NEAR me but spread around the country – absolutely. One day everything will come together a little more cohesively but it won’t be while I’m in the middle of no where Indiana. One day! But for now, I should be grateful for what I have<3

Leave a Reply

