‘Twas the Season

I got back last night from a lovely Christmas vacation up in the northland so this post is quite overdue, indeed.

space

img_8123

space

First and foremost, I arrived home to a much anticipated gift box from my blogger secret santa this year, Meagan of The Charming Farmer!!! This is my second year participating in Tracy’s Equestrian Blogger Gift Exchange and I just love it. I get to find new-to-me blogs to read; try my hand at choosing a fun gift for someone; and I get a sweet gift out of the deal too- what could be better!?

space

Meagan got me a couple of the things from my wish list and I couldn’t be more pleased with her choices. I hail from a northern state where woolen, fair isle patterned, cozy things are straight up proper fashion so I am just delighted with these warm tall socks. Rest assured that even if it never becomes cold enough here in the quasi-south to need them- I’ll still be wearing them!

space

IMG_6064

space

Let’s talk for a second about my love for coffee. I’ve never been a crazy coffee fanatic but studying abroad in Europe in college ruined everything and once you’ve had a silky cafe cortado in Spain you just can’t go back…oh wait, yes you can. Back in the land where drip coffee is king, I still find that a good cup of joe can totally make my morning. When I got my current job and began traveling south (waaaay south) I started to appreciate the more subtle differences between the types of beans and roasts. Now I bring back coffee for the office from Latin America nearly every time I travel. All this mostly to say that Meagan got me a giant mug that happens to be my favorite mug shape (yes, that is a thing) with a cute cable knit pattern.

space

IMG_6058

space

I snatched one of the k-cups on my way out the door this morning and I can’t wait to cuddle up on the couch with my new mug this weekend.

space

Thank you Meagan for such thoughtful, wonderful gifts and thank you Tracy for hosting this really awesome gift exchange.

space

I hope you all had as good a holiday as I did! My last two lessons before Christmas were cancelled but luckily my friend offered her pair for some themed shenanigans. When you add a santa beard to an already bearded haffie, you KNOW things are getting good.

space

FullSizeRender-62

space

For the last 6 years or so I have worn a ridiculous hat to my last lesson before Christmas and since I have ridden under a couple of different trainers in that time frame, I know I have prompted some sizable eye rolls but I could not care less- I enjoy it and deep down they do too. On the 16th of December, I got a text from my trainer that she had to cancel my lesson and I told her that I’d have to cancel the next Wednesday too. We agreed that my next lesson would be after Christmas on the 30th and she told me to have fun at home and not to forget my Christmas hat!!! Ha!!! She totally remembered. I responded “you know I was going to wear it, right?!” and she wrote back “Hahahaha so sorry I’m going to miss that! :-D”

space

hehehe don’t worry, trainer, I’ll just wear it again tonight!

space

FullSizeRender-60space

space

 

FullSizeRender-61

space

swl

6 thoughts on “‘Twas the Season

Leave a Reply

