Purple Rain

 

I got these snaps all weekend from friends of mine who attended the memorial party outside First Ave, a historic Minneapolis music club where many MN musical artists got their start.

space

IMG_6730

 

space

I grew up four miles away from Paisley Park, Prince’s studio, built the year I was born. I attended preschool in the building right next door to the estate. If you grew up in Minnesota, there is a certain small connection shared with a tremendous talent that refused to move to L.A. or some big music city and instead put the ‘burbs of Minneapolis on the map. Prince was proud to be Minnesotan and his fellow statesmen are reeling after the sudden loss of their beloved creative icon.

space

13055015_10157068206135122_2028785315120479943_o

Paisley Park Studio on Saturday, April 23 2016 photo taken by my momΒ 

space

Don’t worry, I have been riding my “Little Red Corvette” quite a bit lately as well. How do so many of you guys seem to have personal photographers/videographers?! Β I’m just over here with my terrible quality iPhone video stills that I took of myself by propping my phone up on an arena wall…

space

FullSizeRender-77

space

I have been trying hard to engage his hind legs specifically during our rides because he sometimes stumbles behind or takes an odd step. I understand that I am a heavy rider and he is an aging horse with probably his fair share of arthritis so I try not to worry about it too much and instead just focus on getting him to slow down and think about things. We’ll build up slowly. Despite the odd step or two, he’s quite a nice mover and he seems to be feeling and moving well. I have to call a farrier out just for him in the next couple of weeks. It might just be one more time before I can try to get on the barn’s rotation in case I can’t be there to hold him. His vet meet and greet went well, I showed him a small patch of scratches on Harley’s right hind but he wasn’t concerned about it at all. I did have him clean Harley’s sheath and watched aghast as my gelding stood quietly while his junk got power washed. Afterwords, the vet exclaimed “okay, Spot, you’re looking good,” and we called it a day.

space

IMG_6675.JPG

The vet was surprised at how clean and white Harley was for the appointment…it was not for lack of effort.Β 

space

I’m starting to not worry about him constantly anymore. I know he is being well cared for at this barn and even if I can’t make it out to see him, he gets decent turnout and has a buddy. I do still worry on trips out of the country for work. May will be busy for me and then I’ll finally get a travel break in June.

space

FullSizeRender-76

space

I spoke with the dressage trainer at my new barn and I will get on her schedule for lessons in two weeks. She was around during Harley’s vet check-up and was asking me all about him. She’s seen him work a little and I think seems interested in seeing what he can really do in the dressage court. I’m interested too!

space

IMG_6737

Good boys get some mango

space

Last night we had our “first fight”. I came out to ride and also to help my friend take some sales video of her gelding. She spent a long time talking to the dressage trainer so I thought I’d just go ahead and get my ride in. Harley was on edge because it was windy and someone had slid one of the big arena doors closed because the new footing was flying around earlier. Harley is doing really well in the arena so far but it is a noisy arena. The structure is mostly wood and a few pigeons hang out in the rafters. There are two barn aisles that connect directly to the arena through large sliding doors so sometimes he can see and hear stuff going on in the aisles. Last night he kept spooking at the side of the arena with the closed door. The door wasn’t making much noise, really, but he kept spooking himself by kicking footing against the gate or boards. I wasn’t asking for particularly difficult work but I did want him to settle down and focus on me and he kept panic rushing through all my aids. After a couple spooks I think all the marbles were lost and I started getting frustrated at him not paying attention so I just decided to get off before I lost my cool. He wasn’t bad, my patience just wasn’t super extensive last night. I decided to cut my losses.

space

Look at that trot from my ride over the weekend, though. Can’t be mad at that! Just need to package that up a little more and convert some forward to up.

space

FullSizeRender-78

space

I will be in Lexington, KY this weekend, but not at Rolex… I know, I know. My cousin is getting married and then I have to leave from there to go to Peru on Sunday for work. I hope all you Rolex-bound bloggers have a wonderful weekend!! Weather doesn’t look spectacular, so be sure to bring rain gear.

space

swl

5 thoughts on “Purple Rain

  1. I was actually just in Minneapolis this week. Had never thought of Prince as Minnesotan honestly, but it his loss was definitely felt while I was there (and it was all that was on the radio!)

Leave a Reply

