Slowly Making Our Comeback

I’d like to share some super positive news- my knee is doing great! Physical therapy for the win!

space

After about three months of my knee feeling so awful I thought sure I’d have to give up riding to have yet another surgery, I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. I am currently in what is known as the most dangerous phase of injury recovery because everything feels really good and it is easy to get complacent and either stop doing the exercises, or worse- assume that you are completely healed and promptly overdo it and re-injure yourself. It is a total mind game at this point.

space

Harley is doing great as well and I’m sure he didn’t mind the break at all.

space

We got mirrors in the arena a few weeks ago and everybody loves them. Someone really enjoys checking out how handsome he is on a regular basis.

space

 

fullsizerender-121

space

He has been very well-behaved lately and I even felt comfortable enough to cool him out bareback a couple of times. This is kind of a big trust hurdle for me and something I like to be able to do with every horse I ride. It’s always just for fun and not for very long, but it solidifies a partnership in ways that traditional schooling can’t. I don’t jump and don’t often get to hack or trail ride so this is the next best way to feel a little bit of that rush, take a chance, and trust that you’ll take care of each other. After falling off of him twice this summer, we really needed to reconnect and, as others have put it, refill that trust bank on both sides.

space

fullsizerender-125

 

space

Fall shots were uneventful and Harley got his teeth done. The vet said his mouth looked great and he only evened up a few mild points. He did ask me if I give Harley a lot of treats. I instantly said no thinking about other barn mates that constantly feed peppermints or the trainers who both have sugar cube pouches attached to their saddles. No way! I do give him treats but not all the time and not pure sugar. The vet grabbed a pliers and gripped it around Harley’s canine. I panicked for second thinking, “is he about to pull that tooth without even asking?!?!” But a moment later a thick whitish yellow cap crumbled off exposing his actual tooth. The vet said, “that’s pure sugar.” As the vet turned to put the pliers away I mumbled something about that being odd because I don’t feed him candy but he absolutely loves bananas. Dr. K’s head snaps back around and he starts telling me about another client of his with a horse only a few years older than Harley who has a tooth that is in such bad shape that it may have to be extracted and they said they feed him lots of bananas! And that is basically the story of how Harley doesn’t get any bananas anymore….

space

fullsizerender-123

 

space

We’ve had lots of very positive rides together lately and with the weather staying warm for so long I think Harley was feeling really good. He had good energy but wasn’t spooky or out of control and every time I asked him to give a little more or do something tough he tried so hard.

space

fullsizerender-124

space

Work travel and lots of clinics at my lesson barn have kept me out of lessons for a few weeks. I am hoping to remedy that tomorrow because I am definitely in desperate need of a lesson!! I really wish she could come give me one on Harley but it will be good to see Louie, too.

space

swl

5 thoughts on “Slowly Making Our Comeback

  1. oooh you guys look great in that last picture!! i’m so relieved to hear your knee is healing and that you’re feeling really positive about it! stay strong and keep healing!

Leave a Reply

