Seeing Double

The idea for this post came to me after I sent a photo of my lesson horse, Louie to my mom after my lesson the other day and she wrote back “I’ve never seen Harley’s more white side before” or something to that effect. I realized that for the less horse crazy or even new blog readers it might not be the most obvious that I ride TWO different pinto horses on a consistent basis.

I lease Harley, a soon to be 19 year old, chestnut tobiano Belgian Warmblood. I board him at a dressage barn just outside of town.

FullSizeRender-132

I ride a 9 year old dark bay tobiano Percheron cross named Louie in my weekly lessons at an eventing barn an hour an a half drive away.

Screen Shot 2014-03-08 at 9.53.30 PM

They are different in almost every way: Harley is super hot, Louie is very lazy chill; Harley has big tall withers, Louie is much rounder; Harley has trouble growing much of a forelock, Louie has the thickest bangs I’ve ever seen; Harley has a white tail, Louie has a black tail; Harley wears size 5 shoes, Louie wears size 2; Harley is spooky, Louie is practically bombproof; Harley never has a floppy lip, Louie always has a floppy lip; Harley is extremely sensitive, Louie is extremely forgiving; Harley is ridiculously photogenic; Louie simply cannot be bothered to look majestic for a photo.

They are similar in some ways too: Both will eat any kind of treat you offer- not picky AT ALL; both love to get dirty and are near impossible to keep white; both are tidy jumpers;  both have excellent ground manners and are genuinely sweet horses.

Now I’m just going to drop a series of photos of each of these handsome geldings that I hope will help new readers identify who I am talking about in upcoming posts even if I fail to identify my ride!

 

IMG_9261

LOUIE!


FullSizeRender-129

HARLEY!


FullSizeRender-131

Louie


FullSizeRender-98

Harley

 

IMG_9135

Louie


IMG_7415

Dark, sweaty Harley is still not Louie


Shadow

haha a trick! Throwback to Shadow, the OG tobiano mare who taught me how to ride.


lou

Louie: my lovable lesson horse


FullSizeRender-133

Harley’s mini winter mustache


FullSizeRender-26

Louie’s treat radar nose


FullSizeRender-135

Harley loves cats


FullSizeRender-130

Louie does too!


FullSizeRender-134

Selfie with Louie


IMG_6575

Awkward selfie with Harley

So you see, I’ve got two painted main men in my life right now. They are both great horses who have taught me so much over the past few years. You could even say I’ve developed a “type” maybe this blog should be called “Painted Dressage” instead!

9 thoughts on “Seeing Double

  1. Both are cuties! I haven’t been following long enough to have seen many pictures but my first reaction was, how can anyone mistake those two? Then I had to remind myself that I was thinking with my horse centric mind. Lol

    • Exactly! To me they are like night and day different but I see them all the time too. It’s like if my friend showed me a picture of two brindle pit bulls and asked me which one was hers…truthfully I’m not so sure I could pick hers out but she would definitely be able to. My mom blamed the photo lighting πŸ˜‰ hahaha

Leave a Reply

